Our History

In our 76 years we have had the privilege of having 7 past District Representatives which is the most out of any chapter in the 12th District. We are the only chapter west of the Colorado Rockies with a fraternity house and we stand as the 3rd largest chapter in the 12th District and the largest in Northern California. We the brothers of Sigma Iota pride ourselves in being pioneers in the 12th District and continue to stand ready in the cause of Omega!

First Chapter Chartered in the 12th District

In 1941, under the guidance of Grand Basileus Z. Alexander Looby, the 12th District was created, comprised of California and the rest of the Pacific Coast. The initial District Organizational Meeting was held in Oakland, CA with a gathering of forty (40) or so brothers. 5 years later Sigma Iota May 14th, 1946 Sigma Iota became the first chapter of Omega Psi Phi chartered in the 12th District.

Under the leadership of the following John Anderson, Richard Clarke, Charles Fields, Godfrey James, Dr. Joe Louis, Warren Morse, Harry Payne, James Spann, James Strathon, Richard Stewart, Samuel Westbrooke, James Strathon served as the first Basileus of the chapter. In 1947 the following men were initiated Louis Harris, John Henderson, Leova Rainey and Clarence Rhodes. Sigma Iota served as the stopping ground for many Omega Men being discharged after World War II in the Greater Bay Area.

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. is the first international fraternal organization founded on the campus of a historically black college.

On the evening of November 17, 1911, Omega Psi Phi was founded inside the Science Building (later renamed Thirkield Hall) at Howard University located in Washington, D.C. The founders were three undergraduates — Edgar Amos Love, Oscar James Cooper and Frank Coleman. Joining them was their faculty adviser, Ernest Everett Just.

From the initials of the Greek phrase meaning, “friendship is essential to the soul“, the name Omega Psi Phi was derived. That phrase was selected as the motto.

Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance and Uplift were adopted as Cardinal Principles.

On November 23, 1911, Edgar A. Love became the first Grand Basileus (National President). Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman were selected to be the Grand Keeper of the Records (National Secretary) and Grand Keeper of Seals (National Treasurer), respectively. Eleven undergraduate men were selected to become the charter members.

Omega built a strong and effective force of men dedicated to its cardinal principles of manhood, scholarship, perseverance, and uplift.

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated